FMV Reviews/Feelings

Started by Tsu, June 02, 2010, 04:16:02 PM

Tsu

I just wanted to post what I thought about the FMV Finalist showings this year.  Anyone else feel free to join me.

I think this year was a huge step up from last year. As a finalist, I was greeted kindly by the coordinator, who was both polite and friendly and made sure that all of the editors were taken care of.  In prior years, it's been difficult to find anyone who knows anything about editor priority seating.  I've had to convince random staff members that I'm an editor, or even just gotten lumped in line with everyone else.  It doesn't seem like much, but this was an important aspect to me.

The viewing itself was pretty good.  The sound quality initially was poor, with the bass cranked up way too high, but it was corrected around the 3rd video, which helped a lot.  I was able to make out lyrics this year (for most videos) which is also a plus.  Nothing sucks as badly as not being able to understand the words that us editors usually base our videos off of in the first place.  One big negative I have to point out is that no time was given for us to vote.  In prior years, we've either been allowed to vote at the end of each category, or a short snippet of each video is shown at the very end with the names of the vid so we can go "Oh yeah, I liked that one" and scribble down its name.  That was kind of harsh for the viewer's choice, as I'm sure there were at least some people who didn't remember which video they wanted to vote for.  I hope this is amended next year.  Also, I noticed during the awards ceremony that the judges' winner for Experimental wasn't even shown during the finals. What happened?  It was a pretty rad video, too.  Technical difficulties happen, though, so it's understandable.