Making costumes > than buying them

Started by jackiemarie90, May 25, 2010, 07:41:43 PM

jackiemarie90

I'm not a real expert but I have been making costumes since the 7th grade because I never have alot of money to buy the what I like! ha ha Right now I'm finishing up my gaara costume and it is blowing my mind how I only spent 7 dollars on the whole red trench coat and it looks so awesome!! ha ha I encourage many other cosplayers to try it making costumes at least once, not only is it like 100 dollars cheaper but the satisfaction after making it so uh-mazing! ha ha
How many of you guys made your costume for fanime this year and how much fun and pride do you put into it? ha ha :)
You haven't idealized mankind, you have deformed it, and that's the real practical joke.

chris-barstow

I agree making a costume is rewarding(made mine this year) But I don't think it should be your only option, like I myself had a costume(bought) and then tried making one good thing because it was a abortion on my first try.

jackiemarie90

Quote from: chris-barstow on May 25, 2010, 07:46:16 PM
I agree making a costume is rewarding(made mine this year) But I don't think it should be your only option, like I myself had a costume(bought) and then tried making one good thing because it was a abortion on my first try.

Oh I'm not saying buying them is a bad thing, I just saying people should try to make them at least once to experience the fun! ha ha What costume did you make?
You haven't idealized mankind, you have deformed it, and that's the real practical joke.

chris-barstow

Quote from: jackiemarie90 on May 25, 2010, 07:50:39 PM

Oh I'm not saying buying them is a bad thing, I just saying people should try to make them at least once to experience the fun! ha ha What costume did you make?
Lol I wanted something original, yet in plane view...  ended up making the Microsoft paperclip out of PVC pipe this year, first time I tried the Heavy off TF2

jackiemarie90