Scholarly Homestuck Analysis Panel

Started by Nina Star 9, January 30, 2015, 03:26:19 PM

Nina Star 9

Hello Fanimestucks!

I have been kicking around an idea for an academic Homestuck panel for a while now, and might be able to pull it off for this con, if in a pared down form, as I am a busy grad student and con is right after finals.

Here is my tag on tumblr about the panel, though I'm imagining the format to be slightly different than originally imagined. (Read through all that, if you are interested.)

I'm thinking of having a panel of a few "experts" in a few topics related to Homestuck -- the comic's format itself (panels, time, etc.), possibly Homestuck and culture/HS and ideology, possibly the concept of authorship in relation to the comic (and how Hussie functions as an author, the relation to the idea of the death of the author, ways that the notion of HS having a singular author can be complicated), maybe a literary analysis of themes and motifs, etc. (these are all still in flux) -- and have each "expert" give a mini lecture on their particular subject. I would then open the floor to discussion of the comic and what the panel audience thinks about each of the topics.

This would not be an in-character ask panel, nor would be an informational "what is Homestuck?" panel. This would be structured similar to a college course and would have a scholarly focus.

If I can get this panel together by the convention, would there be interest in it? What types of topics would people be the most interested in hearing about and discussing? Is anyone interested in being on this panel? Would anybody even attend this type of panel (or stay until the end, if they just showed up for the Homestuck and were disappointed by the content)?