FanimeCon: Participate, Join, Create > Ideas and Suggestions

Age Segragated Dance

(1/5) > >>

gorillazGd:
This is probably controversial to many, but to me the 2015 Fanime dance area to me was an absolutely scary place to be for anyone over the age of 18. As a 19yo college student I was thinking that the dance would be a fun thing to do at the end of the night, but the possibility of problems arising when you mix tweens with full grown adults sent me packing. I simply wanted to meet some people to dance with but I had no way of telling if I would be dancing with a 16 year old or a 20 year old behind the costumes. If it was simply split between one area being 18+ with checked ids (as is already done with the panels) and a under 18 area people could freely dance without the worry of being a creep. Sorry if this is unpopular, just making a observation from this last year.

Mod edit: its called a dance

eHash:
We will review the feasibility of an age separated dance.  Please realize with a nightly attendance of 2200 to 4700 it is not realistic to do that many id checks.  It is more realistic to do an Under 18 Only event.

echoshadow:
Not sure which point your coming from, from a young person surrounded by older adults or an older adults surrounded by younger people?

As for a scary place, nope no way not even miles close to what you find at any all ages shows at any night club.

Let's be real, are you worried about hooking up with an underage person? I and every adult over 18 has that in the back of their mind. One thing that always calms that is a simple question. "How old are you?"  Now depending on both people their answers will come down to their own morals or goals.

If all you want to is dance and have a good time, age is not a factor. And there is zero to worry about.