What are those dolls called?

Started by rock_lee_stalker_*stalks*, February 18, 2007, 11:54:49 AM

Kiba

Latching onto this rather than making a seperate thread, but is an Obitsu doll the same thing as a Dollfie. I'm pretty much a complete newbie to this whole scene but I've been interested in it ever since I saw the dolls that were being sold at Fanime 2 years ago.

Anyway, any info on helping me sort all this out would be greatly appreciated since googled websites pretty much assume you know the different names for everything. Also, that website link was extremely wonderful!

Edit: As an extra add on, I guess to make it more specific is what I'm looking for is customizable dolls, so I can make it look like my own character. I think where I'm getting thrown off is the sites I'm visiting seel the dolls in packages to make them look like a specific doll which isn't what I'm looking for.
Not funny...:(

Megumi

Well, dollfies and obitsus are different. Dollfie only refers to the BJDs manufactured by the company volks. It's a common mistake to refer to other BJDs as dollfies. Obitsu is a manufactuterer of bjds that rivals Volks. Both companies have customizable dolls where you can change the head, the feet, the hands, and I believe some of the other parts. You can even fit dolls from one company onto bodies from other companies and vice versa. You can buy dollsthat have uprooted hair which means the hair is already on it or you can buy ones that don't have hair, which means you can buy different wigs for it. There are some that have eye holes and you can put in different acrylic eyes using eye puddy or there's the ones where you can either paint on the eyes yourself or stick on Anime-ish eye decals. The bodies can also be bought unpainted where you can paint it yourself or you can buy them already painted with a skin color (they usually come in like 3-4 different colors).

Moonblossom