WIGS WIGS and CONTACTS CONTACTS!

Started by extensiveillusion, July 10, 2009, 04:50:45 PM

extensiveillusion

Hey guys :D

To be honest, I've never tried on a wig before, but in the next FAnime coming up for sure I will be using one. I have a few questions though... this is in regards to those who know a lot about wigs.

1. I heard wax works best with these?
2. I also heard from using wax, the wig is basically useless after the first few days. By useless I mean the wax gets old and ruins the entire thing. Is this true?
3. Where do you recommend to get some good wigs?
4. Where would you recommend to get contacts?
5. Are contacts reusable after the first 3 times?
Awakening the inner otaku :)

Charis

What are you talking about when you say wax 'works best'?  If you mean styling, the answer is no; the old standbys are hairspray and hair glue, depending on what you want to do with them.  Using those, with proper care there's no reason why a wig shouldn't last for years.  You can even wash wigs, though you have to be careful and remember that a wig is NOT human hair and has to be handled differently.  There are some excellent tutorials out there, and cosplay.com has an entire forum dedicated to wigs.

Good wigs: there are several reputable eBay sellers (I'm too lazy to dig mine up right now, but I remember Zhenna being one of them), as well as Cosworx and Amphigory, as good basic wig sites.  Doctored Locks is an excellent supplemental resource for extensions.  Avoid things labelled as 'Halloween wigs'; they're usually cheaper fibres.

Within the States, you need a prescription for contact lenses even if you don't need one normally.  Beyond that, I can't advise you as I've never ordered cosmetic lenses, just ordinary prescription ones, but I do know that there are also reviews and photos and discussions of those on cosplay.com.
2012 Plans:
  • Gypsy Queen / Kaya Syokka (Trinity Blood)
  • Risai (Juuni Kokki/Twelve Kingdoms)
  • Shusui (Saiunkoku Monogatari)