Cosplay Question

Started by Lorus, September 19, 2006, 09:23:51 PM

Lorus

I have a pretty simple question about the Cosplay stuff. I have never been to an anime convention and was recently starting to get interested in going to one. If I were to go and dress up as a character, would there be some sort of fee? Are there certain rules you must follow? Is there a requirement to perform a skit on stage, or is that optional? Sorry if I sound like a total newbie.  :D  Thanks.

-Edit 9/20/06-
Thanks for all the feedback guys! I hope I don't look too silly when I go. I'll probably do a little bit of fitness training to look a little more 'in character.' Thanks again! :D

hellangel

Quote from: "Lorus"I have a pretty simple question about the Cosplay stuff. I have never been to an anime convention and was recently starting to get interested in going to one.

Yay! Welcome!!! *welcome dance for you~~*

Quote from: "Lorus"If I were to go and dress up as a character, would there be some sort of fee?

Nope!

Quote from: "Lorus"Are there certain rules you must follow?

The usual- no nudity, keep outfits as PG/PG13ish as possible. Remember, we *are* family-friendly, so try not to traumatize any little kids. Also, no real weapons, airsoft guns, or anything else that might be harmful. Weapons/props need to be checked out by ConOps and "tagged" to make sure they're con-safe. These rules will be posted up on the website. But, basically, just be smart and you should be fine! ^__^

Quote from: "Lorus"Is there a requirement to perform a skit on stage, or is that optional?

Optional!

Quote from: "Lorus"Sorry if I sound like a total newbie.  :D  Thanks.

No prob. Kudos to you for being brave enough to ask! =]
Upcoming events:

YCon | PMX | ALA | AOD | Fanime | AX

zoupzuop2

Yay Cosplay n00bie!

Well, there's no fee to cosplay, nor is a skit required (although there'd be many bonus points if you did!), but it's always fun!